Free Speech Working Group

A university requires an environment where students and scholars can freely express ideas and pursue knowledge, while also promoting respectful dialogue among individuals or groups with opposing viewpoints. To better achieve these ambitions, we have created a Free Speech Working Group comprising of students, faculty, and staff to ensure our policies are meeting the needs of the campus community and to foster transparency in how these policies are implemented. 

Working Group Membership

Mariam Lam (Chair), Vice Chancellor and Chief Diversity Officer

Brian Haynes, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

Christine Mata, Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Christine Victorino, Associate Chancellor

David Bergquist, Campus Counsel

Denise Davis, Director, Women's Resource Center

Elisabeth Yap, Senior Counsel, UC Office of the President

Elizabeth Romero, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Governmental and Community Relations

Ellen Whitehead, Interim Associate Dean, Campus Life

John Cioffi, Associate Professor, Political Science

John Freese, Interim Chief of Police

Kathy Eiler, Director, Federal Relations

Kiersten Boyce, Associate Vice Chancellor and Chief Compliance Officer

John Stephen Henderson, Interim Associate Vice Chancellor and Chief Human Resources Officer

Tasha Hudson, Special Projects Manager (Staff support to Chancellor's Free Speech Working Group)

Academic Senate Vice Chair

ASUCR President

Graduate Student Association President

Please see for Campus Free Speech Resources developed in partnership with this Work Group.