

OFFICE OF THE CHANCELLOR

Commencement 2020 - December Update

December 11, 2019

Dear Campus Community,

Since my November <u>message</u> regarding Commencement, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, Brian Haynes, and CNAS Dean, Kathryn Uhrich, have convened a working group of students, staff, and faculty to provide recommendations for commencement in 2020 and beyond.

The working group reviewed substantial survey data and logistical information, as well as engaged in robust and spirited discussion. The group's consensus was that the campus should maintain the same format in 2020 as was implemented in 2019, while recognizing that graduates may receive a limited number of guest tickets and that the current venue conditions are less than ideal. Although there may be creative ways to improve the current format, the group determined there isn't sufficient time to fully prepare alternatives for the 2020 commencement ceremonies.

I have accepted the working group's recommendation to keep the 2020 commencement ceremonies on campus, and the full list of dates and times will be posted on the UCR Commencement web site before the end of this month.

I am very grateful to the hundreds of students, alumni, staff, and faculty that have provided input thus far. The broad engagement of campus stakeholders has yielded a positive and open dialogue, and I look forward to everyone's recommendations for and participation in future commencement ceremonies. I am hopeful that our collective efforts will help us identify and implement a set of high-quality commencement ceremonies that celebrate our campus and distinctive student body.

In closing, I wish to acknowledge the time and contributions of the working group members (listed below), as they continue to deliberate upon options for the future.

Sincerely,

Kim A. Wilcox, Chancellor



Commencement 2020 Working Group:

Brian Haynes – Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs (Co-Chair)

Kathryn Uhrich – Dean, College of Natural and Agricultural Sciences (Co-Chair)

Alicia Arrizon – Associate Dean, CHASS

Aaron Bushong – Administrative Director, University Honors

Thomas Cogswell – Professor, History

Stephanie Dingwall – Assistant Professor of Teaching, Biochemistry

Julian Gonzalez – ASUCR President

John Haberstroh – GSA President

Peter Hayashida – Vice Chancellor, University Advancement

Victor Marroquin – Diversity Council

Jessica Moronez – GSA Representative

Rocio Munante Navarro – Diversity Council

Marko Princevac – Associate Dean, BCoE

Julie Salgado – Event Services Coordinator, CHASS

Thomas Stahovich – Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Pablo Unzueta – GSA Representative

Katherine Van Horn – Graduate Student Services Advisor, CNAS

Staff Support:

Jorge Ancona – AVC, Alumni and Constituent Relations

Christine Mata – AVC and Dean of Students

Ellen Whitehead – Director, Student Life